REVIEW BY AMY - Body In The Box by E.R. Fallon

Body In The Box - E.R. Fallon

Who dumped the boy’s body in this desolate part of the city and why? And why is he missing his spleen?

BODY IN THE BOX is the first book in a gripping new mystery series featuring three very different homicide detectives.

Detectives Dino Cooper and Terry Jackson have been partners and friends for years. Now a new detective is drafted in to join them: Rebecca Everhart. They must quickly learn to work together on the biggest case of their careers, the disturbing discovery of the ‘Body in the Box’, as it’s known by the captivated media and the city’s worried citizens.

The case takes the three detectives deep inside the lives of Newark’s insular Eastern European immigrant community and the world of unlawful medical practices. It also brings back an eerie childhood memory of Dino’s, where a boy from his neighborhood vanished and was never seen again.

What appears to be a straightforward, modern-day murder case has more to do with the past than the present, and the detectives come to a genuinely unnerving — and life-threatening — conclusion.

This gripping detective novel following the work and relationship struggles of the detectives will appeal to fans of Dennis Lehane, Lisa Unger, Elmore Leonard, and Sue Grafton.

THE DETECTIVES
Detective Rebecca Everhart is a tough and blunt top detective with a family background in law enforcement. She loves the surprised look on a criminal’s face when a woman arrests him.

Detective Terry Jackson is a hardworking by-the-book detective, and a family man, but lately his family life has been anything but normal. Just what is that big secret his wife is hiding from him? There’s also the conflict he has with his highbrow father, who never liked cops even though his son became one.

Detective Dino Cooper is a streetwise, old-school detective with a dark past and a brother who was murdered by the Irish mob. Dino’s good looks and charm allow him to sometimes bend the rules a little in the name of justice.

THE SETTING
Newark is the biggest city in the state of New Jersey, a gritty waterfront city with a large port. It’s a place that some call home but also somewhere many workers commute in to from the suburbs. It’s considered a dangerous city by some, but in recent years has been somewhat revitalized. One of the most diverse cities in the world, it’s a place full of life and great stories.

 

@efallonauthor, @Mommy_Amers, #Crime, #Mystery, #Thriller, 4 out of 5 (very good)

 

Source: http://sites.google.com/site/archaeolibrarian/amy/bodyintheboxbyerfallon